Air Purifiers / Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 vs Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)
Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 vs Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)
Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10
Sealed H13 and a real PM readout, from the one brand that will not tell you its CADR.
Wins overall by 0.0 points
Quick Verdict
The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 wins by 0.0 points, which is not enough to settle it. Buys you out of filter costs for five years, at the price of never knowing its CADR. Pick on the specs that matter to you, not the overall score.
The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 and Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) are both current-generation air Purifier models, and the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) is $80 cheaper than the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 ($399.99 vs $479.99). On Sensor Quality, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 leads (7.5 vs 6.0/10) — whether there is a real laser particle sensor resolving PM1/PM2.5/PM10 with numeric output, a vaguer 'air quality' index, an inference from a cheap VOC element, or no sensor and therefore no auto mode at all. On Verified Clean-Air Delivery, the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) leads (5.0 vs 4.0/10) — how much air the unit actually cleans per minute, weighted heavily toward AHAM Verifide smoke CADR over manufacturer-published figures. Self-reported CADR scores below Verifide CADR, and 'no CADR published at all' scores below both. On Coverage-Claim Honesty, the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) leads (3.0 vs 2.5/10) — the trap dimension for this category. Almost every brand derives its headline square footage from ONE air change per hour, which does close to nothing for smoke, pollen or wildfire particulate — the useful standard is 4.8 air changes an hour, and it is typically a fifth of the number on the box. A high score means the manufacturer publishes the 4.8-ACH figure prominently and it survives comparison with the AHAM Verifide room size; a low score means a big number with no stated air-change basis, or no CADR at all to derive one from.. Overall, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 scores 6.3/10 across our 8 scoring categories versus 6.3/10 for the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302), though the gap is close enough that your specific use case should decide it. Below, we break down the full spec sheet, category-by-category scores, and exactly who should buy which one.
Side-by-Side Comparison
| Spec | Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 | Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $479.99 | $399.99 |
| Release Year | 2023 | 2023 |
| AHAM Verifide CADR (Smoke / Dust / Pollen) (CFM) | Not published, and not AHAM Verifide. Dyson does not appear in the AHAM Verifide directory in August 2026 and publishes no CADR for any model. Dyson's own performance claim is a filtration-efficiency claim (99.97% of particles as small as 0.3 microns, tested to EN1822 with DEHS oil in an ASTM F3150 chamber) — that is about what the media catches, not how much air it cleans per minute. | Not published, and not AHAM Verifide. Shark does not appear in the AHAM Verifide directory at all in August 2026, and publishes no CADR for smoke, dust or pollen. The only performance number on the page is "trapping 99.98% of large, small, and micro-sized particles", which is a capture-efficiency claim and says nothing about airflow. |
| AHAM Verifide Room Size (4.8 ACH) (ft²) | Not listed in the AHAM Verifide directory (August 2026) | Not listed in the AHAM Verifide directory (August 2026) |
| Coverage Claim & Its Air-Change Basis | Dyson publishes no square-footage figure for the TP10 at all — the claim is "whole-room purification" in auto mode. Dyson's larger models are quoted using its own POLAR test rather than AHAM's. Refusing to state a room size is at least not a dishonest room size, but it makes cross-shopping impossible. | "Up to 1,400 sq. ft." with no air-change basis stated anywhere on Shark's own page — no ACH figure, no room-volume assumption, no CADR to derive one from. Retail listings variously quote 1,300 and 1,200–1,500 sq ft for the same model. This is the least checkable coverage claim in the file. |
| Filter Grade (True HEPA / HEPA-Type / H13) | Sealed HEPA H13 whole-machine construction: 360° borosilicate glass HEPA media plus activated carbon in a single cartridge, with the machine itself sealed to H13 so air cannot bypass the filter. The sealing claim is the meaningful part and few rivals make it. | "True HEPA Multi-Filter" — a single tall cartridge combining pre-filtration and HEPA media, sold on longevity rather than grade. Shark quotes 99.98% capture but no H-class rating and no EN 1822 or IEST reference. |
| Pre-Filter (Washable?) | None separate — the glass HEPA and carbon are one sealed cartridge with no washable stage | Integrated into the 5-year multi-filter — nothing separate to wash, and nothing separate to buy |
| Filter Cost per Year | $79.99/yr — 360° Glass HEPA and Activated Carbon filter, part 965432-01, $79.99, replaced every 12 months per Dyson. One part, one price, no variants and no subscription. | About $80/yr in practice, all of it optional: the Odor Neutralizer Cartridge is $19.99 on a roughly 3-month cycle, and it is a fragrance cartridge you can leave out entirely. The main filter is claimed at up to 5 years, so amortised it is small. The caveat: independent analysis of Shark's own test conditions (cleanairadviser.com, 2026) reports the 5-year figure is measured in a 300 ft² room, 12 hours a day at maximum fan speed, to an endpoint that allows clean-air delivery to fall by 50% — so the filter is "still working" at half the airflow it started with. |
| Ioniser / UV / PCO & CARB Classification | None. No ioniser, no UV, no PCO, no plasma. CARB-certified and classified MECHANICAL (dyson Air Purifier TP10, EO G-23-122, notified 2023-05-31). | None. No ioniser, no UV, no PCO. CARB-certified and classified MECHANICAL (Shark HP302, EO G-23-167, notified 2023-06-26). The Odor Neutralizer cartridge is a fragrance emitter, not an oxidiser — but it is still adding VOCs to the air you are cleaning. |
| Noise, Lowest to Highest Setting (dB) | Not published by Dyson for this model. Dyson quotes sound power in some markets but the US TP10 page gives no dB figure at either end; there is a Night mode described only as quiet. | Not published by Shark at either end. No decibel figure appears on the product page. |
| Air Quality Sensor | Real particulate sensing with numeric output: the LCD displays live PM2.5 and PM10 readings, not just a colour. No VOC or NO2 channel on the Gen1 (the higher TP07/TP09 tiers add those). | "CleanSense IQ" air-quality monitoring driving an auto mode. Shark does not state the sensing technology or which pollutants it resolves. |
| Smart Features & Offline Operation | None on the Gen1. No Wi-Fi, no MyDyson app, no account, no firmware, no air-quality history. Everything is on the remote — which is also the only controller, since the machine itself has one button. | None. No Wi-Fi, no app, no account. Note that the infrared remote is listed as a $16.99 replacement part — losing it costs real money because there is no phone fallback. |
| Power Draw & Annual Energy | Not published by Dyson on the US TP10 page. Max airflow is quoted as 76 gallons per minute (about 10.2 CFM of fan output at the aperture, which is not a CADR). | 54W nominal, 86.2W peak (Shark published) |
| Warranty Terms & Conditions | 2-year limited warranty covering parts and labour, plus a 30-day money-back guarantee | 2-year limited warranty |
| Warranty | 24 months | 24 months |
| Colors | White/Silver, Black/Nickel | White, Dove |
Category Scores
Coverage-Claim Honesty
The Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) leads clearly here, 3.0 against 2.5 — a 0.5-point margin on the trap dimension for this category. Almost every brand derives its headline square footage from ONE air change per hour, which does close to nothing for smoke, pollen or wildfire particulate — the useful standard is 4.8 air changes an hour, and it is typically a fifth of the number on the box. A high score means the manufacturer publishes the 4.8-ACH figure prominently and it survives comparison with the AHAM Verifide room size; a low score means a big number with no stated air-change basis, or no CADR at all to derive one from.. If that is what you are buying for, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 does not close the gap elsewhere.
Verified Clean-Air Delivery
The Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) leads clearly here, 5.0 against 4.0 — a 1.0-point margin on how much air the unit actually cleans per minute, weighted heavily toward AHAM Verifide smoke CADR over manufacturer-published figures. Self-reported CADR scores below Verifide CADR, and 'no CADR published at all' scores below both. If that is what you are buying for, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 does not close the gap elsewhere.
Filtration Quality
The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 leads clearly here, 8.5 against 8.0 — a 0.5-point margin on what the media is really rated at — sealed H13, True HEPA, HEPA-Type, EPA 12 or charged fabric — whether the whole machine is sealed so air cannot bypass the filter, and how much genuine activated carbon there is for odours and VOCs. If that is what you are buying for, the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) does not close the gap elsewhere.
Running Cost
The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 and Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) are level here, at 6.5/10 each. filters, pre-filters, cartridges and subscriptions over three years, against the purchase price. Several units here cost more to feed than to buy; a high score means cheap, long-lived, non-proprietary consumables is not what separates these two — look to the categories where the scores diverge.
Quietness
The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 and Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) are level here, at 5.5/10 each. measured decibels at the lowest setting you would run overnight AND at the top speed you need in a smoke event — a purifier is only useful at a speed you can tolerate. Not publishing a figure at either end costs points is not what separates these two — look to the categories where the scores diverge.
Sensor Quality
The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 leads clearly here, 7.5 against 6.0 — a 1.5-point margin on whether there is a real laser particle sensor resolving PM1/PM2.5/PM10 with numeric output, a vaguer 'air quality' index, an inference from a cheap VOC element, or no sensor and therefore no auto mode at all. If that is what you are buying for, the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) does not close the gap elsewhere.
Freedom From Ozone & Air Chemistry
The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 leads clearly here, 9.5 against 9.0 — a 0.5-point margin on whether the unit adds an ioniser, plasma, UV or photocatalytic stage to the airstream, whether that stage can be switched off, and how CARB classifies the device — 'Mechanical' means filtration only, 'Electronic' means capable of generating ozone and certified only as being at or below 0.050 ppm. If that is what you are buying for, the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) does not close the gap elsewhere.
Controls & Independence
The Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) leads clearly here, 7.0 against 6.5 — a 0.5-point margin on whether every mode works from the machine itself with no account or cloud, how good the auto mode is, filter-change access, and whether losing a remote or a login costs you function. If that is what you are buying for, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 does not close the gap elsewhere.
Best For
Choose the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 if…
- • Sensor Quality matters most to you — the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 scores 7.5/10 here (whether there is a real laser particle sensor resolving PM1/PM2.5/PM10 with numeric output, a vaguer 'air quality' index, an inference from a cheap VOC element, or no sensor and therefore no auto mode at all).
- • Filtration Quality matters most to you — the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 scores 8.5/10 here (what the media is really rated at — sealed H13, True HEPA, HEPA-Type, EPA 12 or charged fabric — whether the whole machine is sealed so air cannot bypass the filter, and how much genuine activated carbon there is for odours and VOCs).
- • Freedom From Ozone & Air Chemistry matters most to you — the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 scores 9.5/10 here (whether the unit adds an ioniser, plasma, UV or photocatalytic stage to the airstream, whether that stage can be switched off, and how CARB classifies the device — 'Mechanical' means filtration only, 'Electronic' means capable of generating ozone and certified only as being at or below 0.050 ppm).
- • Your main use case is bedroom-quiet.
Choose the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) if…
- • Verified Clean-Air Delivery matters most to you — the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) scores 5.0/10 here (how much air the unit actually cleans per minute, weighted heavily toward AHAM Verifide smoke CADR over manufacturer-published figures. Self-reported CADR scores below Verifide CADR, and 'no CADR published at all' scores below both).
- • Coverage-Claim Honesty matters most to you — the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) scores 3.0/10 here (the trap dimension for this category. Almost every brand derives its headline square footage from ONE air change per hour, which does close to nothing for smoke, pollen or wildfire particulate — the useful standard is 4.8 air changes an hour, and it is typically a fifth of the number on the box. A high score means the manufacturer publishes the 4.8-ACH figure prominently and it survives comparison with the AHAM Verifide room size; a low score means a big number with no stated air-change basis, or no CADR at all to derive one from.).
- • You want to spend less — it's $80 cheaper.
- • Your main use case is large-room.
Pros & Cons
Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10
Pros
- +Whole-machine sealing to HEPA H13 is a stronger claim than a media-grade H13 sticker, and almost no rival makes it
- +Live numeric PM2.5 and PM10 on the LCD rather than a green/amber/red light
- +One filter, one part number, $79.99 a year, no subscription and no filter-chemistry upsell
- +Purely mechanical and CARB Mechanical — nothing to switch off, nothing that could make ozone
- +It is also a genuinely good 350°-oscillating fan, which changes the maths in a hot bedroom
Cons
- −No CADR, no room size, no AHAM listing — you cannot compare its cleaning rate with anything here
- −No noise figure and no wattage published for the US model
- −The Gen1 deliberately omits Wi-Fi and the MyDyson app, so there is no scheduling and no air-quality history
- −The remote is the only real control surface; the machine body has a single button
- −$479.99 buys 435 verified CFM from Blueair or 253 from Winix; here the airflow is simply not stated
Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)
Pros
- +A 5-year filter genuinely removes the annual $60–100 tax that defines this category
- +Purely mechanical and CARB Mechanical — no ioniser, no UV, nothing to remember to switch off
- +The odour cartridge is optional and removable, so you are not forced to perfume your air
- +CleanSense IQ auto mode with no account, no app and no cloud dependency
- +13.45 lb and 54W nominal for a 1,400 ft²-class tower
Cons
- −No CADR at all, and Shark is absent from the AHAM Verifide directory — the "1,400 sq. ft." has no published air-change basis
- −The 5-year filter claim is measured to an endpoint that permits a 50% fall in clean-air delivery, per independent analysis of Shark's own conditions
- −No decibel figures published at any speed
- −$399.99 list buys 435 verified CFM from Blueair or 253 from Winix; here it buys an unquantified airflow
- −The remote is the only controller and Shark sells it as a $16.99 replacement part — there is no app fallback
Shop by Need
FAQs
Is the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 or Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) better overall?+
Based on our 8-category scoring, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 comes out ahead overall. See the full breakdown in the scores section above — the right pick still depends on which categories matter most for your use case.
Which is better for Sensor Quality, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 or the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)?+
The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 scores higher on Sensor Quality (7.5/10 vs 6.0/10) — whether there is a real laser particle sensor resolving PM1/PM2.5/PM10 with numeric output, a vaguer 'air quality' index, an inference from a cheap VOC element, or no sensor and therefore no auto mode at all.
Which is better for Verified Clean-Air Delivery, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 or the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)?+
The Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) scores higher on Verified Clean-Air Delivery (5.0/10 vs 4.0/10) — how much air the unit actually cleans per minute, weighted heavily toward AHAM Verifide smoke CADR over manufacturer-published figures. Self-reported CADR scores below Verifide CADR, and 'no CADR published at all' scores below both.
Which is better for Coverage-Claim Honesty, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 or the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)?+
The Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) scores higher on Coverage-Claim Honesty (3.0/10 vs 2.5/10) — the trap dimension for this category. Almost every brand derives its headline square footage from ONE air change per hour, which does close to nothing for smoke, pollen or wildfire particulate — the useful standard is 4.8 air changes an hour, and it is typically a fifth of the number on the box. A high score means the manufacturer publishes the 4.8-ACH figure prominently and it survives comparison with the AHAM Verifide room size; a low score means a big number with no stated air-change basis, or no CADR at all to derive one from..
Which is better for Filtration Quality, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 or the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)?+
The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 scores higher on Filtration Quality (8.5/10 vs 8.0/10) — what the media is really rated at — sealed H13, True HEPA, HEPA-Type, EPA 12 or charged fabric — whether the whole machine is sealed so air cannot bypass the filter, and how much genuine activated carbon there is for odours and VOCs.
Is the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 worth the price difference over the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)?+
The Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) is the cheaper option at $399.99 versus $479.99. Whether the pricier model is "worth it" depends on how much you value its lead in Sensor Quality.
Which is better suited to my use case?+
The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 is the better fit if you mainly care about bedroom-quiet. The Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) is the better fit for large-room.
What's the warranty on the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 vs the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)?+
The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 ships with a 24-month warranty; the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) ships with a 24-month warranty. Always confirm current terms on the manufacturer's site before buying.
Should I wait for the next model instead of buying either of these?+
If either model is more than two years old, a successor may be close — check the "Latest Model" link on each product page. Otherwise, both are current, well-supported options and there's no strong reason to wait.
Cheaper Option
Blueair Blue Pure 211i Max (3613111100) — $349.99
Premium Option
Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) — $799.00
Specifications and prices for both products last verified . Scores are calculated from published specifications — see how we compare products.