TCRThe Comparison Report

Air Purifiers / Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 vs Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)

Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 vs Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)

Best Overall

Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)

Best sensors and a lifetime warranty — as long as you never cancel the filter subscription.

Wins overall by 0.6 points

Buy on Amazon

Quick Verdict

The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) is the stronger all-round pick, ahead by 0.6 points. Best sensors and a lifetime warranty — as long as you never cancel the filter subscription.

The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 and Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) are both closely matched air Purifier models, and the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 is $319 cheaper than the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) ($479.99 vs $799). On Verified Clean-Air Delivery, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads (6.5 vs 4.0/10) — how much air the unit actually cleans per minute, weighted heavily toward AHAM Verifide smoke CADR over manufacturer-published figures. Self-reported CADR scores below Verifide CADR, and 'no CADR published at all' scores below both. On Quietness, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads (8.0 vs 5.5/10) — measured decibels at the lowest setting you would run overnight AND at the top speed you need in a smoke event — a purifier is only useful at a speed you can tolerate. Not publishing a figure at either end costs points. On Freedom From Ozone & Air Chemistry, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 leads (9.5 vs 7.5/10) — whether the unit adds an ioniser, plasma, UV or photocatalytic stage to the airstream, whether that stage can be switched off, and how CARB classifies the device — 'Mechanical' means filtration only, 'Electronic' means capable of generating ozone and certified only as being at or below 0.050 ppm. Overall, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) scores 6.9/10 across our 8 scoring categories versus 6.3/10 for the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10. Below, we break down the full spec sheet, category-by-category scores, and exactly who should buy which one.

Side-by-Side Comparison

SpecDyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)
Price$479.99$799.00
Release Year20232024
AHAM Verifide CADR (Smoke / Dust / Pollen) (CFM)Not published, and not AHAM Verifide. Dyson does not appear in the AHAM Verifide directory in August 2026 and publishes no CADR for any model. Dyson's own performance claim is a filtration-efficiency claim (99.97% of particles as small as 0.3 microns, tested to EN1822 with DEHS oil in an ASTM F3150 chamber) — that is about what the media catches, not how much air it cleans per minute.Alen publishes a CADR of 375 on the 75i spec block and 350 in its own product description on the same page — Sources conflict: 375 (Alen spec table) vs 350 (Alen product description). Not AHAM Verifide: Alen does not appear in the AHAM Verifide directory in August 2026, so neither figure is independently confirmed, and neither is broken out by smoke, dust and pollen.
AHAM Verifide Room Size (4.8 ACH) (ft²)Not listed in the AHAM Verifide directory (August 2026)Not listed in the AHAM Verifide directory (August 2026). At Alen's own 375 CADR, the equivalent 4.8-ACH room would be about 580 ft², not the 2,800 ft² on the box.
Coverage Claim & Its Air-Change BasisDyson publishes no square-footage figure for the TP10 at all — the claim is "whole-room purification" in auto mode. Dyson's larger models are quoted using its own POLAR test rather than AHAM's. Refusing to state a room size is at least not a dishonest room size, but it makes cross-shopping impossible."Covers up to 2,800 sq ft every hour or 1,400 sq ft every 30 minutes" — that is 1 air change per hour and 2 air changes per hour respectively. Alen never quotes a 4.8-ACH figure. The gap between the 2,800 ft² headline and the roughly 580 ft² its own CADR implies at 4.8 ACH is the largest in this file.
Filter Grade (True HEPA / HEPA-Type / H13)Sealed HEPA H13 whole-machine construction: 360° borosilicate glass HEPA media plus activated carbon in a single cartridge, with the machine itself sealed to H13 so air cannot bypass the filter. The sealing claim is the meaningful part and few rivals make it.True HEPA H13 rated at 99.9% down to 0.1 microns (Alen's wording). Four interchangeable filters: Essential/Pure, Fresh, Odor and Heavy Odor, the latter three adding progressively more carbon.
Pre-Filter (Washable?)None separate — the glass HEPA and carbon are one sealed cartridge with no washable stageIntegrated into each filter cartridge — not separately washable
Filter Cost per Year$79.99/yr — 360° Glass HEPA and Activated Carbon filter, part 965432-01, $79.99, replaced every 12 months per Dyson. One part, one price, no variants and no subscription.$79.20–$99.00/yr with the Essential (Pure) filter at $99 on Alen's stated 12–15 month interval; $166.80–$238.29/yr with the Ultimate (Odor) filter at $139 on its 7–10 month interval. And note the warranty coupling below: the filter subscription is not optional if you want the lifetime guarantee.
Ioniser / UV / PCO & CARB ClassificationNone. No ioniser, no UV, no PCO, no plasma. CARB-certified and classified MECHANICAL (dyson Air Purifier TP10, EO G-23-122, notified 2023-05-31).Yes, and it is switchable — Alen publishes the numbers at both settings: "0 PPM when disengaged, less than 0.001 PPM with ionizer engaged". CARB certifies the BreatheSmart 75i_V2 as an ELECTRONIC device (EO G-24-038, notified 2024-02-26), and the 45i V2 likewise (G-25-209). Ozone-capable by construction, tested at or below 0.050 ppm, and defeatable in software.
Noise, Lowest to Highest Setting (dB)Not published by Dyson for this model. Dyson quotes sound power in some markets but the US TP10 page gives no dB figure at either end; there is a Night mode described only as quiet.25 dBA lowest to 51 dBA highest (Alen published)
Air Quality SensorReal particulate sensing with numeric output: the LCD displays live PM2.5 and PM10 readings, not just a colour. No VOC or NO2 channel on the Gen1 (the higher TP07/TP09 tiers add those).The most complete sensing package here: PM2.5, TVOC, eCO2, temperature and relative humidity, driving five colour rings and an auto mode. Note eCO2 on this class of device is normally inferred from the VOC sensor rather than measured with an NDIR CO2 cell, and Alen does not state which it is.
Smart Features & Offline OperationNone on the Gen1. No Wi-Fi, no MyDyson app, no account, no firmware, no air-quality history. Everything is on the remote — which is also the only controller, since the machine itself has one button.Wi-Fi and the Alen Air app need an account. Fan speed and auto mode work from the panel offline — but the "Forever Guarantee" requires an active filter subscription, which is a commercial dependency rather than a technical one.
Power Draw & Annual EnergyNot published by Dyson on the US TP10 page. Max airflow is quoted as 76 gallons per minute (about 10.2 CFM of fan output at the aperture, which is not a CADR).1.36W to 55W across the speed range (Alen published)
Warranty Terms & Conditions2-year limited warranty covering parts and labour, plus a 30-day money-back guarantee"Forever Guarantee | with Product Registration & Active Air Filter Subscription" — Alen's lifetime warranty is conditional on you continuing to buy filters on subscription. Cancel the subscription and the guarantee lapses. warrantyMonths is recorded as 0 because the term is conditional and not expressible in months.
Warranty24 months0 months
ColorsWhite/Silver, Black/NickelWhite, Oak, Weathered Gray, Brushed Stainless, Graphite

Category Scores

Coverage-Claim HonestyThe trap dimension for this category. Almost every brand derives its headline square footage from ONE air change per hour, which does close to nothing for smoke, pollen or wildfire particulate — the useful standard is 4.8 air changes an hour, and it is typically a fifth of the number on the box. A high score means the manufacturer publishes the 4.8-ACH figure prominently and it survives comparison with the AHAM Verifide room size; a low score means a big number with no stated air-change basis, or no CADR at all to derive one from.
Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10
2.5
Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)
3.0
Verified Clean-Air DeliveryHow much air the unit actually cleans per minute, weighted heavily toward AHAM Verifide smoke CADR over manufacturer-published figures. Self-reported CADR scores below Verifide CADR, and 'no CADR published at all' scores below both
Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10
4.0
Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)
6.5
Filtration QualityWhat the media is really rated at — sealed H13, True HEPA, HEPA-Type, EPA 12 or charged fabric — whether the whole machine is sealed so air cannot bypass the filter, and how much genuine activated carbon there is for odours and VOCs
Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10
8.5
Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)
8.5
Running CostFilters, pre-filters, cartridges and subscriptions over three years, against the purchase price. Several units here cost more to feed than to buy; a high score means cheap, long-lived, non-proprietary consumables
Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10
6.5
Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)
5.0
QuietnessMeasured decibels at the lowest setting you would run overnight AND at the top speed you need in a smoke event — a purifier is only useful at a speed you can tolerate. Not publishing a figure at either end costs points
Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10
5.5
Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)
8.0
Sensor QualityWhether there is a real laser particle sensor resolving PM1/PM2.5/PM10 with numeric output, a vaguer 'air quality' index, an inference from a cheap VOC element, or no sensor and therefore no auto mode at all
Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10
7.5
Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)
8.5
Freedom From Ozone & Air ChemistryWhether the unit adds an ioniser, plasma, UV or photocatalytic stage to the airstream, whether that stage can be switched off, and how CARB classifies the device — 'Mechanical' means filtration only, 'Electronic' means capable of generating ozone and certified only as being at or below 0.050 ppm
Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10
9.5
Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)
7.5
Controls & IndependenceWhether every mode works from the machine itself with no account or cloud, how good the auto mode is, filter-change access, and whether losing a remote or a login costs you function
Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10
6.5
Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)
8.0
Coverage-Claim HonestyVerified Clean-Air DeliveryFiltration QualityRunning CostQuietnessSensor QualityFreedom From Ozone & Air ChemistryControls & Independence
Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)

Coverage-Claim Honesty

The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads clearly here, 3.0 against 2.5 — a 0.5-point margin on the trap dimension for this category. Almost every brand derives its headline square footage from ONE air change per hour, which does close to nothing for smoke, pollen or wildfire particulate — the useful standard is 4.8 air changes an hour, and it is typically a fifth of the number on the box. A high score means the manufacturer publishes the 4.8-ACH figure prominently and it survives comparison with the AHAM Verifide room size; a low score means a big number with no stated air-change basis, or no CADR at all to derive one from.. If that is what you are buying for, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 does not close the gap elsewhere.

Verified Clean-Air Delivery

The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads clearly here, 6.5 against 4.0 — a 2.5-point margin on how much air the unit actually cleans per minute, weighted heavily toward AHAM Verifide smoke CADR over manufacturer-published figures. Self-reported CADR scores below Verifide CADR, and 'no CADR published at all' scores below both. If that is what you are buying for, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 does not close the gap elsewhere.

Filtration Quality

The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 and Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) are level here, at 8.5/10 each. what the media is really rated at — sealed H13, True HEPA, HEPA-Type, EPA 12 or charged fabric — whether the whole machine is sealed so air cannot bypass the filter, and how much genuine activated carbon there is for odours and VOCs is not what separates these two — look to the categories where the scores diverge.

Running Cost

The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 leads clearly here, 6.5 against 5.0 — a 1.5-point margin on filters, pre-filters, cartridges and subscriptions over three years, against the purchase price. Several units here cost more to feed than to buy; a high score means cheap, long-lived, non-proprietary consumables. If that is what you are buying for, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) does not close the gap elsewhere.

Quietness

The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads clearly here, 8.0 against 5.5 — a 2.5-point margin on measured decibels at the lowest setting you would run overnight AND at the top speed you need in a smoke event — a purifier is only useful at a speed you can tolerate. Not publishing a figure at either end costs points. If that is what you are buying for, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 does not close the gap elsewhere.

Sensor Quality

The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads clearly here, 8.5 against 7.5 — a 1.0-point margin on whether there is a real laser particle sensor resolving PM1/PM2.5/PM10 with numeric output, a vaguer 'air quality' index, an inference from a cheap VOC element, or no sensor and therefore no auto mode at all. If that is what you are buying for, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 does not close the gap elsewhere.

Freedom From Ozone & Air Chemistry

The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 leads clearly here, 9.5 against 7.5 — a 2.0-point margin on whether the unit adds an ioniser, plasma, UV or photocatalytic stage to the airstream, whether that stage can be switched off, and how CARB classifies the device — 'Mechanical' means filtration only, 'Electronic' means capable of generating ozone and certified only as being at or below 0.050 ppm. If that is what you are buying for, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) does not close the gap elsewhere.

Controls & Independence

The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads clearly here, 8.0 against 6.5 — a 1.5-point margin on whether every mode works from the machine itself with no account or cloud, how good the auto mode is, filter-change access, and whether losing a remote or a login costs you function. If that is what you are buying for, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 does not close the gap elsewhere.

Best For

Choose the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 if…

  • Freedom From Ozone & Air Chemistry matters most to you — the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 scores 9.5/10 here (whether the unit adds an ioniser, plasma, UV or photocatalytic stage to the airstream, whether that stage can be switched off, and how CARB classifies the device — 'Mechanical' means filtration only, 'Electronic' means capable of generating ozone and certified only as being at or below 0.050 ppm).
  • Running Cost matters most to you — the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 scores 6.5/10 here (filters, pre-filters, cartridges and subscriptions over three years, against the purchase price. Several units here cost more to feed than to buy; a high score means cheap, long-lived, non-proprietary consumables).
  • You want to spend less — it's $319 cheaper.
  • Your main use case is ioniser-free.

Choose the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) if…

  • Verified Clean-Air Delivery matters most to you — the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) scores 6.5/10 here (how much air the unit actually cleans per minute, weighted heavily toward AHAM Verifide smoke CADR over manufacturer-published figures. Self-reported CADR scores below Verifide CADR, and 'no CADR published at all' scores below both).
  • Quietness matters most to you — the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) scores 8.0/10 here (measured decibels at the lowest setting you would run overnight AND at the top speed you need in a smoke event — a purifier is only useful at a speed you can tolerate. Not publishing a figure at either end costs points).
  • Controls & Independence matters most to you — the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) scores 8.0/10 here (whether every mode works from the machine itself with no account or cloud, how good the auto mode is, filter-change access, and whether losing a remote or a login costs you function).
  • Your main use case is large-room or wildfire-smoke.

Pros & Cons

Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10

Pros

  • +Whole-machine sealing to HEPA H13 is a stronger claim than a media-grade H13 sticker, and almost no rival makes it
  • +Live numeric PM2.5 and PM10 on the LCD rather than a green/amber/red light
  • +One filter, one part number, $79.99 a year, no subscription and no filter-chemistry upsell
  • +Purely mechanical and CARB Mechanical — nothing to switch off, nothing that could make ozone
  • +It is also a genuinely good 350°-oscillating fan, which changes the maths in a hot bedroom

Cons

  • No CADR, no room size, no AHAM listing — you cannot compare its cleaning rate with anything here
  • No noise figure and no wattage published for the US model
  • The Gen1 deliberately omits Wi-Fi and the MyDyson app, so there is no scheduling and no air-quality history
  • The remote is the only real control surface; the machine body has a single button
  • $479.99 buys 435 verified CFM from Blueair or 253 from Winix; here the airflow is simply not stated

Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)

Pros

  • +Publishes actual ozone figures at both ioniser settings — 0 ppm off, under 0.001 ppm on — which almost nobody does
  • +PM2.5, TVOC, eCO2, temperature and humidity sensing is the broadest package here
  • +25–51 dBA across the whole range from a genuinely large-room machine
  • +Four filter chemistries in one body, so you can retune it for odour or wildfire smoke
  • +Interchangeable panels make it the only unit here designed to be seen

Cons

  • The "Forever Guarantee" is conditional on registration AND an active filter subscription — stop buying filters and the lifetime warranty stops
  • "Up to 2,800 sq ft" is a 1-ACH figure; Alen's own CADR implies roughly 580 ft² at the 4.8 ACH that matters
  • Alen's own page states two different CADRs, 375 and 350, in two places
  • Not in the AHAM Verifide directory, so nothing about the CADR is independently confirmed
  • CARB lists the 75i_V2 as an Electronic (ozone-capable) device, and the Odor filter pushes running costs past $165/yr

Shop by Need

FAQs

Is the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 or Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) better overall?+

Based on our 8-category scoring, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) comes out ahead overall. See the full breakdown in the scores section above — the right pick still depends on which categories matter most for your use case.

Which is better for Verified Clean-Air Delivery, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 or the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)?+

The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) scores higher on Verified Clean-Air Delivery (6.5/10 vs 4.0/10) — how much air the unit actually cleans per minute, weighted heavily toward AHAM Verifide smoke CADR over manufacturer-published figures. Self-reported CADR scores below Verifide CADR, and 'no CADR published at all' scores below both.

Which is better for Quietness, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 or the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)?+

The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) scores higher on Quietness (8.0/10 vs 5.5/10) — measured decibels at the lowest setting you would run overnight AND at the top speed you need in a smoke event — a purifier is only useful at a speed you can tolerate. Not publishing a figure at either end costs points.

Which is better for Freedom From Ozone & Air Chemistry, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 or the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)?+

The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 scores higher on Freedom From Ozone & Air Chemistry (9.5/10 vs 7.5/10) — whether the unit adds an ioniser, plasma, UV or photocatalytic stage to the airstream, whether that stage can be switched off, and how CARB classifies the device — 'Mechanical' means filtration only, 'Electronic' means capable of generating ozone and certified only as being at or below 0.050 ppm.

Which is better for Running Cost, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 or the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)?+

The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 scores higher on Running Cost (6.5/10 vs 5.0/10) — filters, pre-filters, cartridges and subscriptions over three years, against the purchase price. Several units here cost more to feed than to buy; a high score means cheap, long-lived, non-proprietary consumables.

Is the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 worth the price difference over the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)?+

The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 is the cheaper option at $479.99 versus $799. Whether the pricier model is "worth it" depends on how much you value its lead in Verified Clean-Air Delivery.

Which is better suited to my use case?+

The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 is the better fit if you mainly care about ioniser-free. The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) is the better fit for large-room or wildfire-smoke.

What's the warranty on the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 vs the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)?+

The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 ships with a 24-month warranty; the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) ships with a 0-month warranty. Always confirm current terms on the manufacturer's site before buying.

Should I wait for the next model instead of buying either of these?+

If either model is more than two years old, a successor may be close — check the "Latest Model" link on each product page. Otherwise, both are current, well-supported options and there's no strong reason to wait.

Cheaper Option

Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) — $399.99

Premium Option

Molekule Air Pro with PECO-HEPA Tri-Power filter (SQ2PH-US) — $1014.99

Specifications and prices for both products last verified . Scores are calculated from published specifications — see how we compare products.

You May Also Like