Air Purifiers / Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) vs Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)
Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) vs Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)
Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)
Best sensors and a lifetime warranty — as long as you never cancel the filter subscription.
Wins overall by 0.6 points
Quick Verdict
The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) takes this by a clear 0.6 points. Best sensors and a lifetime warranty — as long as you never cancel the filter subscription. The Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) only makes sense if it wins on a category you care about more than the total.
The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) and Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) are both closely matched air Purifier models, and the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) is $399 cheaper than the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) ($399.99 vs $799). On Quietness, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads (8.0 vs 5.5/10) — measured decibels at the lowest setting you would run overnight AND at the top speed you need in a smoke event — a purifier is only useful at a speed you can tolerate. Not publishing a figure at either end costs points. On Sensor Quality, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads (8.5 vs 6.0/10) — whether there is a real laser particle sensor resolving PM1/PM2.5/PM10 with numeric output, a vaguer 'air quality' index, an inference from a cheap VOC element, or no sensor and therefore no auto mode at all. On Verified Clean-Air Delivery, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads (6.5 vs 5.0/10) — how much air the unit actually cleans per minute, weighted heavily toward AHAM Verifide smoke CADR over manufacturer-published figures. Self-reported CADR scores below Verifide CADR, and 'no CADR published at all' scores below both. Overall, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) scores 6.9/10 across our 8 scoring categories versus 6.3/10 for the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302). Below, we break down the full spec sheet, category-by-category scores, and exactly who should buy which one.
Side-by-Side Comparison
| Spec | Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) | Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $799.00 | $399.99 |
| Release Year | 2024 | 2023 |
| AHAM Verifide CADR (Smoke / Dust / Pollen) (CFM) | Alen publishes a CADR of 375 on the 75i spec block and 350 in its own product description on the same page — Sources conflict: 375 (Alen spec table) vs 350 (Alen product description). Not AHAM Verifide: Alen does not appear in the AHAM Verifide directory in August 2026, so neither figure is independently confirmed, and neither is broken out by smoke, dust and pollen. | Not published, and not AHAM Verifide. Shark does not appear in the AHAM Verifide directory at all in August 2026, and publishes no CADR for smoke, dust or pollen. The only performance number on the page is "trapping 99.98% of large, small, and micro-sized particles", which is a capture-efficiency claim and says nothing about airflow. |
| AHAM Verifide Room Size (4.8 ACH) (ft²) | Not listed in the AHAM Verifide directory (August 2026). At Alen's own 375 CADR, the equivalent 4.8-ACH room would be about 580 ft², not the 2,800 ft² on the box. | Not listed in the AHAM Verifide directory (August 2026) |
| Coverage Claim & Its Air-Change Basis | "Covers up to 2,800 sq ft every hour or 1,400 sq ft every 30 minutes" — that is 1 air change per hour and 2 air changes per hour respectively. Alen never quotes a 4.8-ACH figure. The gap between the 2,800 ft² headline and the roughly 580 ft² its own CADR implies at 4.8 ACH is the largest in this file. | "Up to 1,400 sq. ft." with no air-change basis stated anywhere on Shark's own page — no ACH figure, no room-volume assumption, no CADR to derive one from. Retail listings variously quote 1,300 and 1,200–1,500 sq ft for the same model. This is the least checkable coverage claim in the file. |
| Filter Grade (True HEPA / HEPA-Type / H13) | True HEPA H13 rated at 99.9% down to 0.1 microns (Alen's wording). Four interchangeable filters: Essential/Pure, Fresh, Odor and Heavy Odor, the latter three adding progressively more carbon. | "True HEPA Multi-Filter" — a single tall cartridge combining pre-filtration and HEPA media, sold on longevity rather than grade. Shark quotes 99.98% capture but no H-class rating and no EN 1822 or IEST reference. |
| Pre-Filter (Washable?) | Integrated into each filter cartridge — not separately washable | Integrated into the 5-year multi-filter — nothing separate to wash, and nothing separate to buy |
| Filter Cost per Year | $79.20–$99.00/yr with the Essential (Pure) filter at $99 on Alen's stated 12–15 month interval; $166.80–$238.29/yr with the Ultimate (Odor) filter at $139 on its 7–10 month interval. And note the warranty coupling below: the filter subscription is not optional if you want the lifetime guarantee. | About $80/yr in practice, all of it optional: the Odor Neutralizer Cartridge is $19.99 on a roughly 3-month cycle, and it is a fragrance cartridge you can leave out entirely. The main filter is claimed at up to 5 years, so amortised it is small. The caveat: independent analysis of Shark's own test conditions (cleanairadviser.com, 2026) reports the 5-year figure is measured in a 300 ft² room, 12 hours a day at maximum fan speed, to an endpoint that allows clean-air delivery to fall by 50% — so the filter is "still working" at half the airflow it started with. |
| Ioniser / UV / PCO & CARB Classification | Yes, and it is switchable — Alen publishes the numbers at both settings: "0 PPM when disengaged, less than 0.001 PPM with ionizer engaged". CARB certifies the BreatheSmart 75i_V2 as an ELECTRONIC device (EO G-24-038, notified 2024-02-26), and the 45i V2 likewise (G-25-209). Ozone-capable by construction, tested at or below 0.050 ppm, and defeatable in software. | None. No ioniser, no UV, no PCO. CARB-certified and classified MECHANICAL (Shark HP302, EO G-23-167, notified 2023-06-26). The Odor Neutralizer cartridge is a fragrance emitter, not an oxidiser — but it is still adding VOCs to the air you are cleaning. |
| Noise, Lowest to Highest Setting (dB) | 25 dBA lowest to 51 dBA highest (Alen published) | Not published by Shark at either end. No decibel figure appears on the product page. |
| Air Quality Sensor | The most complete sensing package here: PM2.5, TVOC, eCO2, temperature and relative humidity, driving five colour rings and an auto mode. Note eCO2 on this class of device is normally inferred from the VOC sensor rather than measured with an NDIR CO2 cell, and Alen does not state which it is. | "CleanSense IQ" air-quality monitoring driving an auto mode. Shark does not state the sensing technology or which pollutants it resolves. |
| Smart Features & Offline Operation | Wi-Fi and the Alen Air app need an account. Fan speed and auto mode work from the panel offline — but the "Forever Guarantee" requires an active filter subscription, which is a commercial dependency rather than a technical one. | None. No Wi-Fi, no app, no account. Note that the infrared remote is listed as a $16.99 replacement part — losing it costs real money because there is no phone fallback. |
| Power Draw & Annual Energy | 1.36W to 55W across the speed range (Alen published) | 54W nominal, 86.2W peak (Shark published) |
| Warranty Terms & Conditions | "Forever Guarantee | with Product Registration & Active Air Filter Subscription" — Alen's lifetime warranty is conditional on you continuing to buy filters on subscription. Cancel the subscription and the guarantee lapses. warrantyMonths is recorded as 0 because the term is conditional and not expressible in months. | 2-year limited warranty |
| Warranty | 0 months | 24 months |
| Colors | White, Oak, Weathered Gray, Brushed Stainless, Graphite | White, Dove |
Category Scores
Coverage-Claim Honesty
The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) and Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) are level here, at 3.0/10 each. the trap dimension for this category. Almost every brand derives its headline square footage from ONE air change per hour, which does close to nothing for smoke, pollen or wildfire particulate — the useful standard is 4.8 air changes an hour, and it is typically a fifth of the number on the box. A high score means the manufacturer publishes the 4.8-ACH figure prominently and it survives comparison with the AHAM Verifide room size; a low score means a big number with no stated air-change basis, or no CADR at all to derive one from. is not what separates these two — look to the categories where the scores diverge.
Verified Clean-Air Delivery
The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads clearly here, 6.5 against 5.0 — a 1.5-point margin on how much air the unit actually cleans per minute, weighted heavily toward AHAM Verifide smoke CADR over manufacturer-published figures. Self-reported CADR scores below Verifide CADR, and 'no CADR published at all' scores below both. If that is what you are buying for, the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) does not close the gap elsewhere.
Filtration Quality
The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads clearly here, 8.5 against 8.0 — a 0.5-point margin on what the media is really rated at — sealed H13, True HEPA, HEPA-Type, EPA 12 or charged fabric — whether the whole machine is sealed so air cannot bypass the filter, and how much genuine activated carbon there is for odours and VOCs. If that is what you are buying for, the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) does not close the gap elsewhere.
Running Cost
The Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) leads clearly here, 6.5 against 5.0 — a 1.5-point margin on filters, pre-filters, cartridges and subscriptions over three years, against the purchase price. Several units here cost more to feed than to buy; a high score means cheap, long-lived, non-proprietary consumables. If that is what you are buying for, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) does not close the gap elsewhere.
Quietness
The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads clearly here, 8.0 against 5.5 — a 2.5-point margin on measured decibels at the lowest setting you would run overnight AND at the top speed you need in a smoke event — a purifier is only useful at a speed you can tolerate. Not publishing a figure at either end costs points. If that is what you are buying for, the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) does not close the gap elsewhere.
Sensor Quality
The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads clearly here, 8.5 against 6.0 — a 2.5-point margin on whether there is a real laser particle sensor resolving PM1/PM2.5/PM10 with numeric output, a vaguer 'air quality' index, an inference from a cheap VOC element, or no sensor and therefore no auto mode at all. If that is what you are buying for, the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) does not close the gap elsewhere.
Freedom From Ozone & Air Chemistry
The Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) leads clearly here, 9.0 against 7.5 — a 1.5-point margin on whether the unit adds an ioniser, plasma, UV or photocatalytic stage to the airstream, whether that stage can be switched off, and how CARB classifies the device — 'Mechanical' means filtration only, 'Electronic' means capable of generating ozone and certified only as being at or below 0.050 ppm. If that is what you are buying for, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) does not close the gap elsewhere.
Controls & Independence
The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads clearly here, 8.0 against 7.0 — a 1.0-point margin on whether every mode works from the machine itself with no account or cloud, how good the auto mode is, filter-change access, and whether losing a remote or a login costs you function. If that is what you are buying for, the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) does not close the gap elsewhere.
Best For
Choose the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) if…
- • Quietness matters most to you — the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) scores 8.0/10 here (measured decibels at the lowest setting you would run overnight AND at the top speed you need in a smoke event — a purifier is only useful at a speed you can tolerate. Not publishing a figure at either end costs points).
- • Sensor Quality matters most to you — the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) scores 8.5/10 here (whether there is a real laser particle sensor resolving PM1/PM2.5/PM10 with numeric output, a vaguer 'air quality' index, an inference from a cheap VOC element, or no sensor and therefore no auto mode at all).
- • Verified Clean-Air Delivery matters most to you — the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) scores 6.5/10 here (how much air the unit actually cleans per minute, weighted heavily toward AHAM Verifide smoke CADR over manufacturer-published figures. Self-reported CADR scores below Verifide CADR, and 'no CADR published at all' scores below both).
- • Your main use case is wildfire-smoke or bedroom-quiet.
Choose the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) if…
- • Running Cost matters most to you — the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) scores 6.5/10 here (filters, pre-filters, cartridges and subscriptions over three years, against the purchase price. Several units here cost more to feed than to buy; a high score means cheap, long-lived, non-proprietary consumables).
- • Freedom From Ozone & Air Chemistry matters most to you — the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) scores 9.0/10 here (whether the unit adds an ioniser, plasma, UV or photocatalytic stage to the airstream, whether that stage can be switched off, and how CARB classifies the device — 'Mechanical' means filtration only, 'Electronic' means capable of generating ozone and certified only as being at or below 0.050 ppm).
- • You want to spend less — it's $399 cheaper.
- • Your main use case is ioniser-free.
Pros & Cons
Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)
Pros
- +Publishes actual ozone figures at both ioniser settings — 0 ppm off, under 0.001 ppm on — which almost nobody does
- +PM2.5, TVOC, eCO2, temperature and humidity sensing is the broadest package here
- +25–51 dBA across the whole range from a genuinely large-room machine
- +Four filter chemistries in one body, so you can retune it for odour or wildfire smoke
- +Interchangeable panels make it the only unit here designed to be seen
Cons
- −The "Forever Guarantee" is conditional on registration AND an active filter subscription — stop buying filters and the lifetime warranty stops
- −"Up to 2,800 sq ft" is a 1-ACH figure; Alen's own CADR implies roughly 580 ft² at the 4.8 ACH that matters
- −Alen's own page states two different CADRs, 375 and 350, in two places
- −Not in the AHAM Verifide directory, so nothing about the CADR is independently confirmed
- −CARB lists the 75i_V2 as an Electronic (ozone-capable) device, and the Odor filter pushes running costs past $165/yr
Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)
Pros
- +A 5-year filter genuinely removes the annual $60–100 tax that defines this category
- +Purely mechanical and CARB Mechanical — no ioniser, no UV, nothing to remember to switch off
- +The odour cartridge is optional and removable, so you are not forced to perfume your air
- +CleanSense IQ auto mode with no account, no app and no cloud dependency
- +13.45 lb and 54W nominal for a 1,400 ft²-class tower
Cons
- −No CADR at all, and Shark is absent from the AHAM Verifide directory — the "1,400 sq. ft." has no published air-change basis
- −The 5-year filter claim is measured to an endpoint that permits a 50% fall in clean-air delivery, per independent analysis of Shark's own conditions
- −No decibel figures published at any speed
- −$399.99 list buys 435 verified CFM from Blueair or 253 from Winix; here it buys an unquantified airflow
- −The remote is the only controller and Shark sells it as a $16.99 replacement part — there is no app fallback
Shop by Need
FAQs
Is the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) or Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) better overall?+
Based on our 8-category scoring, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) comes out ahead overall. See the full breakdown in the scores section above — the right pick still depends on which categories matter most for your use case.
Which is better for Quietness, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) or the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)?+
The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) scores higher on Quietness (8.0/10 vs 5.5/10) — measured decibels at the lowest setting you would run overnight AND at the top speed you need in a smoke event — a purifier is only useful at a speed you can tolerate. Not publishing a figure at either end costs points.
Which is better for Sensor Quality, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) or the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)?+
The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) scores higher on Sensor Quality (8.5/10 vs 6.0/10) — whether there is a real laser particle sensor resolving PM1/PM2.5/PM10 with numeric output, a vaguer 'air quality' index, an inference from a cheap VOC element, or no sensor and therefore no auto mode at all.
Which is better for Verified Clean-Air Delivery, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) or the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)?+
The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) scores higher on Verified Clean-Air Delivery (6.5/10 vs 5.0/10) — how much air the unit actually cleans per minute, weighted heavily toward AHAM Verifide smoke CADR over manufacturer-published figures. Self-reported CADR scores below Verifide CADR, and 'no CADR published at all' scores below both.
Which is better for Running Cost, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) or the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)?+
The Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) scores higher on Running Cost (6.5/10 vs 5.0/10) — filters, pre-filters, cartridges and subscriptions over three years, against the purchase price. Several units here cost more to feed than to buy; a high score means cheap, long-lived, non-proprietary consumables.
Is the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) worth the price difference over the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)?+
The Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) is the cheaper option at $399.99 versus $799. Whether the pricier model is "worth it" depends on how much you value its lead in Quietness.
Which is better suited to my use case?+
The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) is the better fit if you mainly care about wildfire-smoke or bedroom-quiet. The Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) is the better fit for ioniser-free.
What's the warranty on the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) vs the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)?+
The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) ships with a 0-month warranty; the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) ships with a 24-month warranty. Always confirm current terms on the manufacturer's site before buying.
Should I wait for the next model instead of buying either of these?+
If either model is more than two years old, a successor may be close — check the "Latest Model" link on each product page. Otherwise, both are current, well-supported options and there's no strong reason to wait.
Cheaper Option
Blueair Blue Pure 211i Max (3613111100) — $349.99
Premium Option
Molekule Air Pro with PECO-HEPA Tri-Power filter (SQ2PH-US) — $1014.99
Specifications and prices for both products last verified . Scores are calculated from published specifications — see how we compare products.