Air Purifiers / Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) vs Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10
Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) vs Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10
Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)
Best sensors and a lifetime warranty — as long as you never cancel the filter subscription.
Wins overall by 0.6 points
Quick Verdict
A 0.6-point gap makes the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) the straightforward choice here. Best sensors and a lifetime warranty — as long as you never cancel the filter subscription.
The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) and Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 are both closely matched air Purifier models, and the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 is $319 cheaper than the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) ($479.99 vs $799). On Verified Clean-Air Delivery, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads (6.5 vs 4.0/10) — how much air the unit actually cleans per minute, weighted heavily toward AHAM Verifide smoke CADR over manufacturer-published figures. Self-reported CADR scores below Verifide CADR, and 'no CADR published at all' scores below both. On Quietness, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads (8.0 vs 5.5/10) — measured decibels at the lowest setting you would run overnight AND at the top speed you need in a smoke event — a purifier is only useful at a speed you can tolerate. Not publishing a figure at either end costs points. On Freedom From Ozone & Air Chemistry, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 leads (9.5 vs 7.5/10) — whether the unit adds an ioniser, plasma, UV or photocatalytic stage to the airstream, whether that stage can be switched off, and how CARB classifies the device — 'Mechanical' means filtration only, 'Electronic' means capable of generating ozone and certified only as being at or below 0.050 ppm. Overall, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) scores 6.9/10 across our 8 scoring categories versus 6.3/10 for the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10. Below, we break down the full spec sheet, category-by-category scores, and exactly who should buy which one.
Side-by-Side Comparison
| Spec | Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) | Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $799.00 | $479.99 |
| Release Year | 2024 | 2023 |
| AHAM Verifide CADR (Smoke / Dust / Pollen) (CFM) | Alen publishes a CADR of 375 on the 75i spec block and 350 in its own product description on the same page — Sources conflict: 375 (Alen spec table) vs 350 (Alen product description). Not AHAM Verifide: Alen does not appear in the AHAM Verifide directory in August 2026, so neither figure is independently confirmed, and neither is broken out by smoke, dust and pollen. | Not published, and not AHAM Verifide. Dyson does not appear in the AHAM Verifide directory in August 2026 and publishes no CADR for any model. Dyson's own performance claim is a filtration-efficiency claim (99.97% of particles as small as 0.3 microns, tested to EN1822 with DEHS oil in an ASTM F3150 chamber) — that is about what the media catches, not how much air it cleans per minute. |
| AHAM Verifide Room Size (4.8 ACH) (ft²) | Not listed in the AHAM Verifide directory (August 2026). At Alen's own 375 CADR, the equivalent 4.8-ACH room would be about 580 ft², not the 2,800 ft² on the box. | Not listed in the AHAM Verifide directory (August 2026) |
| Coverage Claim & Its Air-Change Basis | "Covers up to 2,800 sq ft every hour or 1,400 sq ft every 30 minutes" — that is 1 air change per hour and 2 air changes per hour respectively. Alen never quotes a 4.8-ACH figure. The gap between the 2,800 ft² headline and the roughly 580 ft² its own CADR implies at 4.8 ACH is the largest in this file. | Dyson publishes no square-footage figure for the TP10 at all — the claim is "whole-room purification" in auto mode. Dyson's larger models are quoted using its own POLAR test rather than AHAM's. Refusing to state a room size is at least not a dishonest room size, but it makes cross-shopping impossible. |
| Filter Grade (True HEPA / HEPA-Type / H13) | True HEPA H13 rated at 99.9% down to 0.1 microns (Alen's wording). Four interchangeable filters: Essential/Pure, Fresh, Odor and Heavy Odor, the latter three adding progressively more carbon. | Sealed HEPA H13 whole-machine construction: 360° borosilicate glass HEPA media plus activated carbon in a single cartridge, with the machine itself sealed to H13 so air cannot bypass the filter. The sealing claim is the meaningful part and few rivals make it. |
| Pre-Filter (Washable?) | Integrated into each filter cartridge — not separately washable | None separate — the glass HEPA and carbon are one sealed cartridge with no washable stage |
| Filter Cost per Year | $79.20–$99.00/yr with the Essential (Pure) filter at $99 on Alen's stated 12–15 month interval; $166.80–$238.29/yr with the Ultimate (Odor) filter at $139 on its 7–10 month interval. And note the warranty coupling below: the filter subscription is not optional if you want the lifetime guarantee. | $79.99/yr — 360° Glass HEPA and Activated Carbon filter, part 965432-01, $79.99, replaced every 12 months per Dyson. One part, one price, no variants and no subscription. |
| Ioniser / UV / PCO & CARB Classification | Yes, and it is switchable — Alen publishes the numbers at both settings: "0 PPM when disengaged, less than 0.001 PPM with ionizer engaged". CARB certifies the BreatheSmart 75i_V2 as an ELECTRONIC device (EO G-24-038, notified 2024-02-26), and the 45i V2 likewise (G-25-209). Ozone-capable by construction, tested at or below 0.050 ppm, and defeatable in software. | None. No ioniser, no UV, no PCO, no plasma. CARB-certified and classified MECHANICAL (dyson Air Purifier TP10, EO G-23-122, notified 2023-05-31). |
| Noise, Lowest to Highest Setting (dB) | 25 dBA lowest to 51 dBA highest (Alen published) | Not published by Dyson for this model. Dyson quotes sound power in some markets but the US TP10 page gives no dB figure at either end; there is a Night mode described only as quiet. |
| Air Quality Sensor | The most complete sensing package here: PM2.5, TVOC, eCO2, temperature and relative humidity, driving five colour rings and an auto mode. Note eCO2 on this class of device is normally inferred from the VOC sensor rather than measured with an NDIR CO2 cell, and Alen does not state which it is. | Real particulate sensing with numeric output: the LCD displays live PM2.5 and PM10 readings, not just a colour. No VOC or NO2 channel on the Gen1 (the higher TP07/TP09 tiers add those). |
| Smart Features & Offline Operation | Wi-Fi and the Alen Air app need an account. Fan speed and auto mode work from the panel offline — but the "Forever Guarantee" requires an active filter subscription, which is a commercial dependency rather than a technical one. | None on the Gen1. No Wi-Fi, no MyDyson app, no account, no firmware, no air-quality history. Everything is on the remote — which is also the only controller, since the machine itself has one button. |
| Power Draw & Annual Energy | 1.36W to 55W across the speed range (Alen published) | Not published by Dyson on the US TP10 page. Max airflow is quoted as 76 gallons per minute (about 10.2 CFM of fan output at the aperture, which is not a CADR). |
| Warranty Terms & Conditions | "Forever Guarantee | with Product Registration & Active Air Filter Subscription" — Alen's lifetime warranty is conditional on you continuing to buy filters on subscription. Cancel the subscription and the guarantee lapses. warrantyMonths is recorded as 0 because the term is conditional and not expressible in months. | 2-year limited warranty covering parts and labour, plus a 30-day money-back guarantee |
| Warranty | 0 months | 24 months |
| Colors | White, Oak, Weathered Gray, Brushed Stainless, Graphite | White/Silver, Black/Nickel |
Category Scores
Coverage-Claim Honesty
The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads clearly here, 3.0 against 2.5 — a 0.5-point margin on the trap dimension for this category. Almost every brand derives its headline square footage from ONE air change per hour, which does close to nothing for smoke, pollen or wildfire particulate — the useful standard is 4.8 air changes an hour, and it is typically a fifth of the number on the box. A high score means the manufacturer publishes the 4.8-ACH figure prominently and it survives comparison with the AHAM Verifide room size; a low score means a big number with no stated air-change basis, or no CADR at all to derive one from.. If that is what you are buying for, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 does not close the gap elsewhere.
Verified Clean-Air Delivery
The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads clearly here, 6.5 against 4.0 — a 2.5-point margin on how much air the unit actually cleans per minute, weighted heavily toward AHAM Verifide smoke CADR over manufacturer-published figures. Self-reported CADR scores below Verifide CADR, and 'no CADR published at all' scores below both. If that is what you are buying for, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 does not close the gap elsewhere.
Filtration Quality
The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) and Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 are level here, at 8.5/10 each. what the media is really rated at — sealed H13, True HEPA, HEPA-Type, EPA 12 or charged fabric — whether the whole machine is sealed so air cannot bypass the filter, and how much genuine activated carbon there is for odours and VOCs is not what separates these two — look to the categories where the scores diverge.
Running Cost
The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 leads clearly here, 6.5 against 5.0 — a 1.5-point margin on filters, pre-filters, cartridges and subscriptions over three years, against the purchase price. Several units here cost more to feed than to buy; a high score means cheap, long-lived, non-proprietary consumables. If that is what you are buying for, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) does not close the gap elsewhere.
Quietness
The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads clearly here, 8.0 against 5.5 — a 2.5-point margin on measured decibels at the lowest setting you would run overnight AND at the top speed you need in a smoke event — a purifier is only useful at a speed you can tolerate. Not publishing a figure at either end costs points. If that is what you are buying for, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 does not close the gap elsewhere.
Sensor Quality
The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads clearly here, 8.5 against 7.5 — a 1.0-point margin on whether there is a real laser particle sensor resolving PM1/PM2.5/PM10 with numeric output, a vaguer 'air quality' index, an inference from a cheap VOC element, or no sensor and therefore no auto mode at all. If that is what you are buying for, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 does not close the gap elsewhere.
Freedom From Ozone & Air Chemistry
The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 leads clearly here, 9.5 against 7.5 — a 2.0-point margin on whether the unit adds an ioniser, plasma, UV or photocatalytic stage to the airstream, whether that stage can be switched off, and how CARB classifies the device — 'Mechanical' means filtration only, 'Electronic' means capable of generating ozone and certified only as being at or below 0.050 ppm. If that is what you are buying for, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) does not close the gap elsewhere.
Controls & Independence
The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads clearly here, 8.0 against 6.5 — a 1.5-point margin on whether every mode works from the machine itself with no account or cloud, how good the auto mode is, filter-change access, and whether losing a remote or a login costs you function. If that is what you are buying for, the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 does not close the gap elsewhere.
Best For
Choose the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) if…
- • Verified Clean-Air Delivery matters most to you — the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) scores 6.5/10 here (how much air the unit actually cleans per minute, weighted heavily toward AHAM Verifide smoke CADR over manufacturer-published figures. Self-reported CADR scores below Verifide CADR, and 'no CADR published at all' scores below both).
- • Quietness matters most to you — the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) scores 8.0/10 here (measured decibels at the lowest setting you would run overnight AND at the top speed you need in a smoke event — a purifier is only useful at a speed you can tolerate. Not publishing a figure at either end costs points).
- • Controls & Independence matters most to you — the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) scores 8.0/10 here (whether every mode works from the machine itself with no account or cloud, how good the auto mode is, filter-change access, and whether losing a remote or a login costs you function).
- • Your main use case is large-room or wildfire-smoke.
Choose the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 if…
- • Freedom From Ozone & Air Chemistry matters most to you — the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 scores 9.5/10 here (whether the unit adds an ioniser, plasma, UV or photocatalytic stage to the airstream, whether that stage can be switched off, and how CARB classifies the device — 'Mechanical' means filtration only, 'Electronic' means capable of generating ozone and certified only as being at or below 0.050 ppm).
- • Running Cost matters most to you — the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 scores 6.5/10 here (filters, pre-filters, cartridges and subscriptions over three years, against the purchase price. Several units here cost more to feed than to buy; a high score means cheap, long-lived, non-proprietary consumables).
- • You want to spend less — it's $319 cheaper.
- • Your main use case is ioniser-free.
Pros & Cons
Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)
Pros
- +Publishes actual ozone figures at both ioniser settings — 0 ppm off, under 0.001 ppm on — which almost nobody does
- +PM2.5, TVOC, eCO2, temperature and humidity sensing is the broadest package here
- +25–51 dBA across the whole range from a genuinely large-room machine
- +Four filter chemistries in one body, so you can retune it for odour or wildfire smoke
- +Interchangeable panels make it the only unit here designed to be seen
Cons
- −The "Forever Guarantee" is conditional on registration AND an active filter subscription — stop buying filters and the lifetime warranty stops
- −"Up to 2,800 sq ft" is a 1-ACH figure; Alen's own CADR implies roughly 580 ft² at the 4.8 ACH that matters
- −Alen's own page states two different CADRs, 375 and 350, in two places
- −Not in the AHAM Verifide directory, so nothing about the CADR is independently confirmed
- −CARB lists the 75i_V2 as an Electronic (ozone-capable) device, and the Odor filter pushes running costs past $165/yr
Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10
Pros
- +Whole-machine sealing to HEPA H13 is a stronger claim than a media-grade H13 sticker, and almost no rival makes it
- +Live numeric PM2.5 and PM10 on the LCD rather than a green/amber/red light
- +One filter, one part number, $79.99 a year, no subscription and no filter-chemistry upsell
- +Purely mechanical and CARB Mechanical — nothing to switch off, nothing that could make ozone
- +It is also a genuinely good 350°-oscillating fan, which changes the maths in a hot bedroom
Cons
- −No CADR, no room size, no AHAM listing — you cannot compare its cleaning rate with anything here
- −No noise figure and no wattage published for the US model
- −The Gen1 deliberately omits Wi-Fi and the MyDyson app, so there is no scheduling and no air-quality history
- −The remote is the only real control surface; the machine body has a single button
- −$479.99 buys 435 verified CFM from Blueair or 253 from Winix; here the airflow is simply not stated
Shop by Need
FAQs
Is the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) or Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 better overall?+
Based on our 8-category scoring, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) comes out ahead overall. See the full breakdown in the scores section above — the right pick still depends on which categories matter most for your use case.
Which is better for Verified Clean-Air Delivery, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) or the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10?+
The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) scores higher on Verified Clean-Air Delivery (6.5/10 vs 4.0/10) — how much air the unit actually cleans per minute, weighted heavily toward AHAM Verifide smoke CADR over manufacturer-published figures. Self-reported CADR scores below Verifide CADR, and 'no CADR published at all' scores below both.
Which is better for Quietness, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) or the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10?+
The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) scores higher on Quietness (8.0/10 vs 5.5/10) — measured decibels at the lowest setting you would run overnight AND at the top speed you need in a smoke event — a purifier is only useful at a speed you can tolerate. Not publishing a figure at either end costs points.
Which is better for Freedom From Ozone & Air Chemistry, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) or the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10?+
The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 scores higher on Freedom From Ozone & Air Chemistry (9.5/10 vs 7.5/10) — whether the unit adds an ioniser, plasma, UV or photocatalytic stage to the airstream, whether that stage can be switched off, and how CARB classifies the device — 'Mechanical' means filtration only, 'Electronic' means capable of generating ozone and certified only as being at or below 0.050 ppm.
Which is better for Running Cost, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) or the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10?+
The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 scores higher on Running Cost (6.5/10 vs 5.0/10) — filters, pre-filters, cartridges and subscriptions over three years, against the purchase price. Several units here cost more to feed than to buy; a high score means cheap, long-lived, non-proprietary consumables.
Is the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) worth the price difference over the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10?+
The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 is the cheaper option at $479.99 versus $799. Whether the pricier model is "worth it" depends on how much you value its lead in Verified Clean-Air Delivery.
Which is better suited to my use case?+
The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) is the better fit if you mainly care about large-room or wildfire-smoke. The Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 is the better fit for ioniser-free.
What's the warranty on the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) vs the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10?+
The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) ships with a 0-month warranty; the Dyson Purifier Cool Gen1 TP10 ships with a 24-month warranty. Always confirm current terms on the manufacturer's site before buying.
Should I wait for the next model instead of buying either of these?+
If either model is more than two years old, a successor may be close — check the "Latest Model" link on each product page. Otherwise, both are current, well-supported options and there's no strong reason to wait.
Cheaper Option
Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) — $399.99
Premium Option
Molekule Air Pro with PECO-HEPA Tri-Power filter (SQ2PH-US) — $1014.99
Specifications and prices for both products last verified . Scores are calculated from published specifications — see how we compare products.