Air Purifiers / Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B vs Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)
Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B vs Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)
Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B
Five-year warranty and a real AHAM number, paid for in electricity and quarterly pre-filters.
Wins overall by 0.7 points
Quick Verdict
A 0.7-point gap makes the Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B the straightforward choice here. Five-year warranty and a real AHAM number, paid for in electricity and quarterly pre-filters.
The Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B and Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) are both closely matched air Purifier models, and the Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B is $136.50 cheaper than the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) ($263.48 vs $399.99). On Coverage-Claim Honesty, the Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B leads (8.0 vs 3.0/10) — the trap dimension for this category. Almost every brand derives its headline square footage from ONE air change per hour, which does close to nothing for smoke, pollen or wildfire particulate — the useful standard is 4.8 air changes an hour, and it is typically a fifth of the number on the box. A high score means the manufacturer publishes the 4.8-ACH figure prominently and it survives comparison with the AHAM Verifide room size; a low score means a big number with no stated air-change basis, or no CADR at all to derive one from.. On Verified Clean-Air Delivery, the Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B leads (7.0 vs 5.0/10) — how much air the unit actually cleans per minute, weighted heavily toward AHAM Verifide smoke CADR over manufacturer-published figures. Self-reported CADR scores below Verifide CADR, and 'no CADR published at all' scores below both. On Running Cost, the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) leads (6.5 vs 5.5/10) — filters, pre-filters, cartridges and subscriptions over three years, against the purchase price. Several units here cost more to feed than to buy; a high score means cheap, long-lived, non-proprietary consumables. Overall, the Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B scores 7.0/10 across our 8 scoring categories versus 6.3/10 for the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302). Below, we break down the full spec sheet, category-by-category scores, and exactly who should buy which one.
Side-by-Side Comparison
| Spec | Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B | Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $263.48 | $399.99 |
| Release Year | 2022 | 2023 |
| AHAM Verifide CADR (Smoke / Dust / Pollen) (CFM) | AHAM Verifide: smoke 133 / dust 143 / pollen 168 CFM (ahamdir.com, model HPA180B). Genuinely Verifide. | Not published, and not AHAM Verifide. Shark does not appear in the AHAM Verifide directory at all in August 2026, and publishes no CADR for smoke, dust or pollen. The only performance number on the page is "trapping 99.98% of large, small, and micro-sized particles", which is a capture-efficiency claim and says nothing about airflow. |
| AHAM Verifide Room Size (4.8 ACH) (ft²) | 206 ft² per the AHAM Verifide listing; Honeywell rounds it to "Large (200 sq. ft.)" on its own page | Not listed in the AHAM Verifide directory (August 2026) |
| Coverage Claim & Its Air-Change Basis | Honeywell's headline is "990 ft² in 1 hour" — which is the 206 ft² AHAM room size multiplied by 4.8. To Honeywell's credit its own product page states the AHAM room size and the "4.8 times per hour" basis in the same block. A 990 ft² room is not what this cleans; a 200 ft² room is. | "Up to 1,400 sq. ft." with no air-change basis stated anywhere on Shark's own page — no ACH figure, no room-volume assumption, no CADR to derive one from. Retail listings variously quote 1,300 and 1,200–1,500 sq ft for the same model. This is the least checkable coverage claim in the file. |
| Filter Grade (True HEPA / HEPA-Type / H13) | True HEPA rated at up to 99.97% of particles 0.3 µm and larger, plus a replaceable pre-filter and an optional Enhanced Odor "T" carbon filter. | "True HEPA Multi-Filter" — a single tall cartridge combining pre-filtration and HEPA media, sold on longevity rather than grade. Shark quotes 99.98% capture but no H-class rating and no EN 1822 or IEST reference. |
| Pre-Filter (Washable?) | Replaceable, not washable — Pre-Filter A/A+ on a 3-month cycle. This is a recurring cost, not a rinse-and-refit part. | Integrated into the 5-year multi-filter — nothing separate to wash, and nothing separate to buy |
| Filter Cost per Year | Honeywell publishes intervals but not a single-part price for this model: HEPA "G" filter every 12 months plus Pre-Filter A/A+ every 3 months (four a year), with an optional Enhanced Odor "T" filter also on a 3-month cycle. For scale, the same store prices the equivalent HPA300-series parts at $36.95 for a single HEPA R and $15.95 for a pre-filter — which puts a comparable Honeywell in the $90–$110/yr bracket. Recorded as: interval published, price for the G/A parts not published on the manufacturer page. | About $80/yr in practice, all of it optional: the Odor Neutralizer Cartridge is $19.99 on a roughly 3-month cycle, and it is a fragrance cartridge you can leave out entirely. The main filter is claimed at up to 5 years, so amortised it is small. The caveat: independent analysis of Shark's own test conditions (cleanairadviser.com, 2026) reports the 5-year figure is measured in a 300 ft² room, 12 hours a day at maximum fan speed, to an endpoint that allows clean-air delivery to fall by 50% — so the filter is "still working" at half the airflow it started with. |
| Ioniser / UV / PCO & CARB Classification | None. No ioniser, no UV, no PCO. CARB-certified and classified MECHANICAL (Honeywell INSIGHT SERIES HPA180BV2, EO G-25-339, notified 2025-12-12). | None. No ioniser, no UV, no PCO. CARB-certified and classified MECHANICAL (Shark HP302, EO G-23-167, notified 2023-06-26). The Odor Neutralizer cartridge is a fragrance emitter, not an oxidiser — but it is still adding VOCs to the air you are cleaning. |
| Noise, Lowest to Highest Setting (dB) | Not published by Honeywell — the product page describes the lowest speed as "quiet" and gives no decibel figures at either end. This is the only mid-range unit here with no published noise data at all. | Not published by Shark at either end. No decibel figure appears on the product page. |
| Air Quality Sensor | "Intelligent Air Quality Sensor" driving a colour-coded display and an automatic cleaning mode. Honeywell does not state the sensing technology. | "CleanSense IQ" air-quality monitoring driving an auto mode. Shark does not state the sensing technology or which pollutants it resolves. |
| Smart Features & Offline Operation | None. No Wi-Fi, no app, no account, no firmware. Fully offline. | None. No Wi-Fi, no app, no account. Note that the infrared remote is listed as a $16.99 replacement part — losing it costs real money because there is no phone fallback. |
| Power Draw & Annual Energy | AHAM-measured 55.2W at the smoke-CADR speed, and 322 kWh annual energy consumption per the AHAM listing — the highest energy figure in this file for only 133 CFM of smoke CADR | 54W nominal, 86.2W peak (Shark published) |
| Warranty Terms & Conditions | 5-year limited warranty with no registration or subscription condition — the longest fixed term here | 2-year limited warranty |
| Warranty | 60 months | 24 months |
| Colors | Black | White, Dove |
Category Scores
Coverage-Claim Honesty
The Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B leads clearly here, 8.0 against 3.0 — a 5.0-point margin on the trap dimension for this category. Almost every brand derives its headline square footage from ONE air change per hour, which does close to nothing for smoke, pollen or wildfire particulate — the useful standard is 4.8 air changes an hour, and it is typically a fifth of the number on the box. A high score means the manufacturer publishes the 4.8-ACH figure prominently and it survives comparison with the AHAM Verifide room size; a low score means a big number with no stated air-change basis, or no CADR at all to derive one from.. If that is what you are buying for, the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) does not close the gap elsewhere.
Verified Clean-Air Delivery
The Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B leads clearly here, 7.0 against 5.0 — a 2.0-point margin on how much air the unit actually cleans per minute, weighted heavily toward AHAM Verifide smoke CADR over manufacturer-published figures. Self-reported CADR scores below Verifide CADR, and 'no CADR published at all' scores below both. If that is what you are buying for, the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) does not close the gap elsewhere.
Filtration Quality
The Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B and Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) are level here, at 8.0/10 each. what the media is really rated at — sealed H13, True HEPA, HEPA-Type, EPA 12 or charged fabric — whether the whole machine is sealed so air cannot bypass the filter, and how much genuine activated carbon there is for odours and VOCs is not what separates these two — look to the categories where the scores diverge.
Running Cost
The Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) leads clearly here, 6.5 against 5.5 — a 1.0-point margin on filters, pre-filters, cartridges and subscriptions over three years, against the purchase price. Several units here cost more to feed than to buy; a high score means cheap, long-lived, non-proprietary consumables. If that is what you are buying for, the Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B does not close the gap elsewhere.
Quietness
The Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B and Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) are level here, at 5.5/10 each. measured decibels at the lowest setting you would run overnight AND at the top speed you need in a smoke event — a purifier is only useful at a speed you can tolerate. Not publishing a figure at either end costs points is not what separates these two — look to the categories where the scores diverge.
Sensor Quality
The Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) leads clearly here, 6.0 against 5.0 — a 1.0-point margin on whether there is a real laser particle sensor resolving PM1/PM2.5/PM10 with numeric output, a vaguer 'air quality' index, an inference from a cheap VOC element, or no sensor and therefore no auto mode at all. If that is what you are buying for, the Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B does not close the gap elsewhere.
Freedom From Ozone & Air Chemistry
The Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B leads clearly here, 10.0 against 9.0 — a 1.0-point margin on whether the unit adds an ioniser, plasma, UV or photocatalytic stage to the airstream, whether that stage can be switched off, and how CARB classifies the device — 'Mechanical' means filtration only, 'Electronic' means capable of generating ozone and certified only as being at or below 0.050 ppm. If that is what you are buying for, the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) does not close the gap elsewhere.
Controls & Independence
The Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B and Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) are level here, at 7.0/10 each. whether every mode works from the machine itself with no account or cloud, how good the auto mode is, filter-change access, and whether losing a remote or a login costs you function is not what separates these two — look to the categories where the scores diverge.
Best For
Choose the Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B if…
- • Coverage-Claim Honesty matters most to you — the Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B scores 8.0/10 here (the trap dimension for this category. Almost every brand derives its headline square footage from ONE air change per hour, which does close to nothing for smoke, pollen or wildfire particulate — the useful standard is 4.8 air changes an hour, and it is typically a fifth of the number on the box. A high score means the manufacturer publishes the 4.8-ACH figure prominently and it survives comparison with the AHAM Verifide room size; a low score means a big number with no stated air-change basis, or no CADR at all to derive one from.).
- • Verified Clean-Air Delivery matters most to you — the Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B scores 7.0/10 here (how much air the unit actually cleans per minute, weighted heavily toward AHAM Verifide smoke CADR over manufacturer-published figures. Self-reported CADR scores below Verifide CADR, and 'no CADR published at all' scores below both).
- • Freedom From Ozone & Air Chemistry matters most to you — the Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B scores 10.0/10 here (whether the unit adds an ioniser, plasma, UV or photocatalytic stage to the airstream, whether that stage can be switched off, and how CARB classifies the device — 'Mechanical' means filtration only, 'Electronic' means capable of generating ozone and certified only as being at or below 0.050 ppm).
- • You want to spend less — it's $136.50 cheaper.
- • Your main use case is bedroom-quiet or aham-verifide.
Choose the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) if…
- • Running Cost matters most to you — the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) scores 6.5/10 here (filters, pre-filters, cartridges and subscriptions over three years, against the purchase price. Several units here cost more to feed than to buy; a high score means cheap, long-lived, non-proprietary consumables).
- • Sensor Quality matters most to you — the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) scores 6.0/10 here (whether there is a real laser particle sensor resolving PM1/PM2.5/PM10 with numeric output, a vaguer 'air quality' index, an inference from a cheap VOC element, or no sensor and therefore no auto mode at all).
- • Your main use case is large-room.
Pros & Cons
Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B
Pros
- +5-year warranty with no strings — nothing else here matches it without a subscription
- +AHAM Verifide, and Honeywell publishes the 200 ft²/4.8-ACH basis alongside the 990 ft² headline
- +Genuinely mechanical: CARB classifies it Mechanical, so there is no ioniser or UV stage at all
- +Real air-quality sensor with a colour display and a working auto mode
- +No account, no app, no cloud — it will behave the same in ten years
Cons
- −322 kWh/yr on the AHAM listing for 133 CFM of smoke CADR: by far the worst clean-air-per-watt here
- −Honeywell publishes no decibel figure at any speed for this model
- −The pre-filter is a consumable on a 3-month cycle, so four parts a year on top of the annual HEPA
- −133 CFM smoke CADR is the lowest of the mid-range units — the $240 Coway does 233 and the $260 Winix 253
- −Honeywell has discontinued the HPA200 and HPA300 that this range replaces, so parts continuity is worth checking
Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)
Pros
- +A 5-year filter genuinely removes the annual $60–100 tax that defines this category
- +Purely mechanical and CARB Mechanical — no ioniser, no UV, nothing to remember to switch off
- +The odour cartridge is optional and removable, so you are not forced to perfume your air
- +CleanSense IQ auto mode with no account, no app and no cloud dependency
- +13.45 lb and 54W nominal for a 1,400 ft²-class tower
Cons
- −No CADR at all, and Shark is absent from the AHAM Verifide directory — the "1,400 sq. ft." has no published air-change basis
- −The 5-year filter claim is measured to an endpoint that permits a 50% fall in clean-air delivery, per independent analysis of Shark's own conditions
- −No decibel figures published at any speed
- −$399.99 list buys 435 verified CFM from Blueair or 253 from Winix; here it buys an unquantified airflow
- −The remote is the only controller and Shark sells it as a $16.99 replacement part — there is no app fallback
Shop by Need
FAQs
Is the Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B or Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) better overall?+
Based on our 8-category scoring, the Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B comes out ahead overall. See the full breakdown in the scores section above — the right pick still depends on which categories matter most for your use case.
Which is better for Coverage-Claim Honesty, the Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B or the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)?+
The Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B scores higher on Coverage-Claim Honesty (8.0/10 vs 3.0/10) — the trap dimension for this category. Almost every brand derives its headline square footage from ONE air change per hour, which does close to nothing for smoke, pollen or wildfire particulate — the useful standard is 4.8 air changes an hour, and it is typically a fifth of the number on the box. A high score means the manufacturer publishes the 4.8-ACH figure prominently and it survives comparison with the AHAM Verifide room size; a low score means a big number with no stated air-change basis, or no CADR at all to derive one from..
Which is better for Verified Clean-Air Delivery, the Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B or the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)?+
The Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B scores higher on Verified Clean-Air Delivery (7.0/10 vs 5.0/10) — how much air the unit actually cleans per minute, weighted heavily toward AHAM Verifide smoke CADR over manufacturer-published figures. Self-reported CADR scores below Verifide CADR, and 'no CADR published at all' scores below both.
Which is better for Running Cost, the Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B or the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)?+
The Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) scores higher on Running Cost (6.5/10 vs 5.5/10) — filters, pre-filters, cartridges and subscriptions over three years, against the purchase price. Several units here cost more to feed than to buy; a high score means cheap, long-lived, non-proprietary consumables.
Which is better for Sensor Quality, the Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B or the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)?+
The Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) scores higher on Sensor Quality (6.0/10 vs 5.0/10) — whether there is a real laser particle sensor resolving PM1/PM2.5/PM10 with numeric output, a vaguer 'air quality' index, an inference from a cheap VOC element, or no sensor and therefore no auto mode at all.
Is the Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B worth the price difference over the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)?+
The Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B is the cheaper option at $263.48 versus $399.99. Whether the pricier model is "worth it" depends on how much you value its lead in Coverage-Claim Honesty.
Which is better suited to my use case?+
The Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B is the better fit if you mainly care about bedroom-quiet or aham-verifide. The Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) is the better fit for large-room.
What's the warranty on the Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B vs the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302)?+
The Honeywell InSight HEPA Tower HPA180B ships with a 60-month warranty; the Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) ships with a 24-month warranty. Always confirm current terms on the manufacturer's site before buying.
Should I wait for the next model instead of buying either of these?+
If either model is more than two years old, a successor may be close — check the "Latest Model" link on each product page. Otherwise, both are current, well-supported options and there's no strong reason to wait.
Cheaper Option
Blueair Blue Pure 211i Max (3613111100) — $349.99
Premium Option
Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX (HP302) — $399.99
Specifications and prices for both products last verified . Scores are calculated from published specifications — see how we compare products.