TCRThe Comparison Report

Air Purifiers / Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) vs Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty

Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) vs Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty

Best Overall (Close Call)

Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)

Best sensors and a lifetime warranty — as long as you never cancel the filter subscription.

Wins overall by 0.0 points

Buy on Amazon

Quick Verdict

The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) wins by 0.0 points, which is not enough to settle it. Cheapest filters in the class and an honest coverage table — but check the ioniser button is off. Pick on the specs that matter to you, not the overall score.

The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) and Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty are both closely matched air Purifier models, and the Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty is $559 cheaper than the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) ($239.99 vs $799). On Coverage-Claim Honesty, the Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty leads (7.0 vs 3.0/10) — the trap dimension for this category. Almost every brand derives its headline square footage from ONE air change per hour, which does close to nothing for smoke, pollen or wildfire particulate — the useful standard is 4.8 air changes an hour, and it is typically a fifth of the number on the box. A high score means the manufacturer publishes the 4.8-ACH figure prominently and it survives comparison with the AHAM Verifide room size; a low score means a big number with no stated air-change basis, or no CADR at all to derive one from.. On Sensor Quality, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads (8.5 vs 5.0/10) — whether there is a real laser particle sensor resolving PM1/PM2.5/PM10 with numeric output, a vaguer 'air quality' index, an inference from a cheap VOC element, or no sensor and therefore no auto mode at all. On Running Cost, the Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty leads (8.0 vs 5.0/10) — filters, pre-filters, cartridges and subscriptions over three years, against the purchase price. Several units here cost more to feed than to buy; a high score means cheap, long-lived, non-proprietary consumables. Overall, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) scores 6.9/10 across our 8 scoring categories versus 6.9/10 for the Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty, though the gap is close enough that your specific use case should decide it. Below, we break down the full spec sheet, category-by-category scores, and exactly who should buy which one.

Side-by-Side Comparison

SpecAlen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty
Price$799.00$239.99
Release Year20242013
AHAM Verifide CADR (Smoke / Dust / Pollen) (CFM)Alen publishes a CADR of 375 on the 75i spec block and 350 in its own product description on the same page — Sources conflict: 375 (Alen spec table) vs 350 (Alen product description). Not AHAM Verifide: Alen does not appear in the AHAM Verifide directory in August 2026, so neither figure is independently confirmed, and neither is broken out by smoke, dust and pollen.Coway publishes smoke 233 / dust 246 / pollen 240 CFM itself. NOT AHAM Verifide as of August 2026: Coway does not appear in the AHAM Verifide directory's brand index at all, so no Coway model — including this one — currently carries a Verifide CADR. These are manufacturer figures.
AHAM Verifide Room Size (4.8 ACH) (ft²)Not listed in the AHAM Verifide directory (August 2026). At Alen's own 375 CADR, the equivalent 4.8-ACH room would be about 580 ft², not the 2,800 ft² on the box.Not listed in the AHAM Verifide directory (August 2026). Coway's own 4.8-ACH figure is 361 ft².
Coverage Claim & Its Air-Change Basis"Covers up to 2,800 sq ft every hour or 1,400 sq ft every 30 minutes" — that is 1 air change per hour and 2 air changes per hour respectively. Alen never quotes a 4.8-ACH figure. The gap between the 2,800 ft² headline and the roughly 580 ft² its own CADR implies at 4.8 ACH is the largest in this file.Coway's own spec table gives "1 air change/hr 1,748 ft² / 2 air changes/hr 874 ft² / 4.8 air changes/hr 361 ft²" — the most complete ladder any brand here publishes. The retail listing headline is the 1,748 ft² number.
Filter Grade (True HEPA / HEPA-Type / H13)True HEPA H13 rated at 99.9% down to 0.1 microns (Alen's wording). Four interchangeable filters: Essential/Pure, Fresh, Odor and Heavy Odor, the latter three adding progressively more carbon.Four stages: washable pre-filter, deodorisation (activated carbon) filter, True HEPA filter rated 99.97% at 0.3 µm, and a bipolar ionising device. Coway calls the HEPA stage True HEPA; the newer Mighty2 is marketed as "IEST certified HEPA" instead.
Pre-Filter (Washable?)Integrated into each filter cartridge — not separately washableYes — permanent washable mesh pre-filter. Coway's instructions: pull it out, rinse or vacuum, dry fully, reset. No recurring cost.
Filter Cost per Year$79.20–$99.00/yr with the Essential (Pure) filter at $99 on Alen's stated 12–15 month interval; $166.80–$238.29/yr with the Ultimate (Odor) filter at $139 on its 7–10 month interval. And note the warranty coupling below: the filter subscription is not optional if you want the lifetime guarantee.$54.99/yr — Airmega Mighty AP-1512HH & 200M filter set (SKU 3304899 / 3109905 / 3118096) contains one HEPA filter (1-year life) and two deodorisation filters (6-month life), i.e. exactly one year of consumables. Specialty sets run $54.99–$56.99 (Intense Smoke, Allergen, Pet).
Ioniser / UV / PCO & CARB ClassificationYes, and it is switchable — Alen publishes the numbers at both settings: "0 PPM when disengaged, less than 0.001 PPM with ionizer engaged". CARB certifies the BreatheSmart 75i_V2 as an ELECTRONIC device (EO G-24-038, notified 2024-02-26), and the 45i V2 likewise (G-25-209). Ozone-capable by construction, tested at or below 0.050 ppm, and defeatable in software.Yes — the fourth stage is a bipolar ionising device, and it is listed in Coway's own filter composition. CARB records the AP-1512HH as an ELECTRONIC device (Coway/Woongjin Coway, EO G-13-027 and G-16-011), meaning it is capable of generating ozone and was certified only because it tested at or below 0.050 ppm. The revised AP-1512HHC (EO G-25-347) and the Mighty2 AP-1512N (G-26-042) are certified as Mechanical. The ioniser has its own button and can be switched off.
Noise, Lowest to Highest Setting (dB)25 dBA lowest to 51 dBA highest (Alen published)24 dB(A) lowest to 53 dB(A) highest (Coway published)
Air Quality SensorThe most complete sensing package here: PM2.5, TVOC, eCO2, temperature and relative humidity, driving five colour rings and an auto mode. Note eCO2 on this class of device is normally inferred from the VOC sensor rather than measured with an NDIR CO2 cell, and Alen does not state which it is.Coway calls it a "dust sensor" on this model and does not describe it as a laser particle counter. The successor Mighty2 upgrades to a "MegaScan laser sensor (PM1, 2.5, 10)" — which tells you what the AP-1512HH's sensor is not.
Smart Features & Offline OperationWi-Fi and the Alen Air app need an account. Fan speed and auto mode work from the panel offline — but the "Forever Guarantee" requires an active filter subscription, which is a commercial dependency rather than a technical one.None on this SKU. No account, no app, no cloud, no firmware; every function is on the top panel. That makes it the most future-proof mid-range unit here.
Power Draw & Annual Energy1.36W to 55W across the speed range (Alen published)77W maximum (Coway published)
Warranty Terms & Conditions"Forever Guarantee | with Product Registration & Active Air Filter Subscription" — Alen's lifetime warranty is conditional on you continuing to buy filters on subscription. Cancel the subscription and the guarantee lapses. warrantyMonths is recorded as 0 because the term is conditional and not expressible in months.3-year limited warranty per Coway's retail listing; Coway's own product page does not state a term
Warranty0 months36 months
ColorsWhite, Oak, Weathered Gray, Brushed Stainless, GraphiteWhite, Black

Category Scores

Coverage-Claim HonestyThe trap dimension for this category. Almost every brand derives its headline square footage from ONE air change per hour, which does close to nothing for smoke, pollen or wildfire particulate — the useful standard is 4.8 air changes an hour, and it is typically a fifth of the number on the box. A high score means the manufacturer publishes the 4.8-ACH figure prominently and it survives comparison with the AHAM Verifide room size; a low score means a big number with no stated air-change basis, or no CADR at all to derive one from.
Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)
3.0
Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty
7.0
Verified Clean-Air DeliveryHow much air the unit actually cleans per minute, weighted heavily toward AHAM Verifide smoke CADR over manufacturer-published figures. Self-reported CADR scores below Verifide CADR, and 'no CADR published at all' scores below both
Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)
6.5
Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty
6.5
Filtration QualityWhat the media is really rated at — sealed H13, True HEPA, HEPA-Type, EPA 12 or charged fabric — whether the whole machine is sealed so air cannot bypass the filter, and how much genuine activated carbon there is for odours and VOCs
Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)
8.5
Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty
8.0
Running CostFilters, pre-filters, cartridges and subscriptions over three years, against the purchase price. Several units here cost more to feed than to buy; a high score means cheap, long-lived, non-proprietary consumables
Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)
5.0
Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty
8.0
QuietnessMeasured decibels at the lowest setting you would run overnight AND at the top speed you need in a smoke event — a purifier is only useful at a speed you can tolerate. Not publishing a figure at either end costs points
Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)
8.0
Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty
7.5
Sensor QualityWhether there is a real laser particle sensor resolving PM1/PM2.5/PM10 with numeric output, a vaguer 'air quality' index, an inference from a cheap VOC element, or no sensor and therefore no auto mode at all
Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)
8.5
Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty
5.0
Freedom From Ozone & Air ChemistryWhether the unit adds an ioniser, plasma, UV or photocatalytic stage to the airstream, whether that stage can be switched off, and how CARB classifies the device — 'Mechanical' means filtration only, 'Electronic' means capable of generating ozone and certified only as being at or below 0.050 ppm
Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)
7.5
Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty
5.0
Controls & IndependenceWhether every mode works from the machine itself with no account or cloud, how good the auto mode is, filter-change access, and whether losing a remote or a login costs you function
Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)
8.0
Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty
8.0
Coverage-Claim HonestyVerified Clean-Air DeliveryFiltration QualityRunning CostQuietnessSensor QualityFreedom From Ozone & Air ChemistryControls & Independence
Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty

Coverage-Claim Honesty

The Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty leads clearly here, 7.0 against 3.0 — a 4.0-point margin on the trap dimension for this category. Almost every brand derives its headline square footage from ONE air change per hour, which does close to nothing for smoke, pollen or wildfire particulate — the useful standard is 4.8 air changes an hour, and it is typically a fifth of the number on the box. A high score means the manufacturer publishes the 4.8-ACH figure prominently and it survives comparison with the AHAM Verifide room size; a low score means a big number with no stated air-change basis, or no CADR at all to derive one from.. If that is what you are buying for, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) does not close the gap elsewhere.

Verified Clean-Air Delivery

The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) and Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty are level here, at 6.5/10 each. how much air the unit actually cleans per minute, weighted heavily toward AHAM Verifide smoke CADR over manufacturer-published figures. Self-reported CADR scores below Verifide CADR, and 'no CADR published at all' scores below both is not what separates these two — look to the categories where the scores diverge.

Filtration Quality

The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads clearly here, 8.5 against 8.0 — a 0.5-point margin on what the media is really rated at — sealed H13, True HEPA, HEPA-Type, EPA 12 or charged fabric — whether the whole machine is sealed so air cannot bypass the filter, and how much genuine activated carbon there is for odours and VOCs. If that is what you are buying for, the Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty does not close the gap elsewhere.

Running Cost

The Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty leads clearly here, 8.0 against 5.0 — a 3.0-point margin on filters, pre-filters, cartridges and subscriptions over three years, against the purchase price. Several units here cost more to feed than to buy; a high score means cheap, long-lived, non-proprietary consumables. If that is what you are buying for, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) does not close the gap elsewhere.

Quietness

The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads clearly here, 8.0 against 7.5 — a 0.5-point margin on measured decibels at the lowest setting you would run overnight AND at the top speed you need in a smoke event — a purifier is only useful at a speed you can tolerate. Not publishing a figure at either end costs points. If that is what you are buying for, the Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty does not close the gap elsewhere.

Sensor Quality

The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads clearly here, 8.5 against 5.0 — a 3.5-point margin on whether there is a real laser particle sensor resolving PM1/PM2.5/PM10 with numeric output, a vaguer 'air quality' index, an inference from a cheap VOC element, or no sensor and therefore no auto mode at all. If that is what you are buying for, the Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty does not close the gap elsewhere.

Freedom From Ozone & Air Chemistry

The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) leads clearly here, 7.5 against 5.0 — a 2.5-point margin on whether the unit adds an ioniser, plasma, UV or photocatalytic stage to the airstream, whether that stage can be switched off, and how CARB classifies the device — 'Mechanical' means filtration only, 'Electronic' means capable of generating ozone and certified only as being at or below 0.050 ppm. If that is what you are buying for, the Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty does not close the gap elsewhere.

Controls & Independence

The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) and Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty are level here, at 8.0/10 each. whether every mode works from the machine itself with no account or cloud, how good the auto mode is, filter-change access, and whether losing a remote or a login costs you function is not what separates these two — look to the categories where the scores diverge.

Best For

Choose the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) if…

  • Sensor Quality matters most to you — the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) scores 8.5/10 here (whether there is a real laser particle sensor resolving PM1/PM2.5/PM10 with numeric output, a vaguer 'air quality' index, an inference from a cheap VOC element, or no sensor and therefore no auto mode at all).
  • Freedom From Ozone & Air Chemistry matters most to you — the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) scores 7.5/10 here (whether the unit adds an ioniser, plasma, UV or photocatalytic stage to the airstream, whether that stage can be switched off, and how CARB classifies the device — 'Mechanical' means filtration only, 'Electronic' means capable of generating ozone and certified only as being at or below 0.050 ppm).
  • Filtration Quality matters most to you — the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) scores 8.5/10 here (what the media is really rated at — sealed H13, True HEPA, HEPA-Type, EPA 12 or charged fabric — whether the whole machine is sealed so air cannot bypass the filter, and how much genuine activated carbon there is for odours and VOCs).
  • Your main use case is bedroom-quiet.

Choose the Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty if…

  • Coverage-Claim Honesty matters most to you — the Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty scores 7.0/10 here (the trap dimension for this category. Almost every brand derives its headline square footage from ONE air change per hour, which does close to nothing for smoke, pollen or wildfire particulate — the useful standard is 4.8 air changes an hour, and it is typically a fifth of the number on the box. A high score means the manufacturer publishes the 4.8-ACH figure prominently and it survives comparison with the AHAM Verifide room size; a low score means a big number with no stated air-change basis, or no CADR at all to derive one from.).
  • Running Cost matters most to you — the Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty scores 8.0/10 here (filters, pre-filters, cartridges and subscriptions over three years, against the purchase price. Several units here cost more to feed than to buy; a high score means cheap, long-lived, non-proprietary consumables).
  • You want to spend less — it's $559 cheaper.

Pros & Cons

Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2)

Pros

  • +Publishes actual ozone figures at both ioniser settings — 0 ppm off, under 0.001 ppm on — which almost nobody does
  • +PM2.5, TVOC, eCO2, temperature and humidity sensing is the broadest package here
  • +25–51 dBA across the whole range from a genuinely large-room machine
  • +Four filter chemistries in one body, so you can retune it for odour or wildfire smoke
  • +Interchangeable panels make it the only unit here designed to be seen

Cons

  • The "Forever Guarantee" is conditional on registration AND an active filter subscription — stop buying filters and the lifetime warranty stops
  • "Up to 2,800 sq ft" is a 1-ACH figure; Alen's own CADR implies roughly 580 ft² at the 4.8 ACH that matters
  • Alen's own page states two different CADRs, 375 and 350, in two places
  • Not in the AHAM Verifide directory, so nothing about the CADR is independently confirmed
  • CARB lists the 75i_V2 as an Electronic (ozone-capable) device, and the Odor filter pushes running costs past $165/yr

Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty

Pros

  • +Coway publishes a three-rung coverage ladder — 1,748 / 874 / 361 ft² — instead of hiding the 4.8-ACH figure
  • +$54.99 buys a complete year of filters, the cheapest running cost of any 200-plus-CADR unit here
  • +Washable permanent pre-filter genuinely removes a consumable rather than renaming one
  • +Completely offline: no account, no app, no firmware, nothing to be discontinued
  • +3-year warranty and a decade of continuous production behind the design

Cons

  • Coway is not in the AHAM Verifide directory at all in August 2026, so the 233/246/240 CADR is self-reported
  • The fourth stage is a bipolar ioniser and CARB classifies this model as an Electronic device — ozone-capable, certified only as under 0.050 ppm. Switch it off
  • The air-quality sensor is a dust sensor, not the laser PM sensor Coway put in the Mighty2 successor
  • 77W is the second-highest draw here for a mid-size unit
  • No Wi-Fi, no scheduling, no filter-life telemetry — you watch an indicator light

Shop by Need

FAQs

Is the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) or Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty better overall?+

Based on our 8-category scoring, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) comes out ahead overall. See the full breakdown in the scores section above — the right pick still depends on which categories matter most for your use case.

Which is better for Coverage-Claim Honesty, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) or the Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty?+

The Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty scores higher on Coverage-Claim Honesty (7.0/10 vs 3.0/10) — the trap dimension for this category. Almost every brand derives its headline square footage from ONE air change per hour, which does close to nothing for smoke, pollen or wildfire particulate — the useful standard is 4.8 air changes an hour, and it is typically a fifth of the number on the box. A high score means the manufacturer publishes the 4.8-ACH figure prominently and it survives comparison with the AHAM Verifide room size; a low score means a big number with no stated air-change basis, or no CADR at all to derive one from..

Which is better for Sensor Quality, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) or the Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty?+

The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) scores higher on Sensor Quality (8.5/10 vs 5.0/10) — whether there is a real laser particle sensor resolving PM1/PM2.5/PM10 with numeric output, a vaguer 'air quality' index, an inference from a cheap VOC element, or no sensor and therefore no auto mode at all.

Which is better for Running Cost, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) or the Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty?+

The Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty scores higher on Running Cost (8.0/10 vs 5.0/10) — filters, pre-filters, cartridges and subscriptions over three years, against the purchase price. Several units here cost more to feed than to buy; a high score means cheap, long-lived, non-proprietary consumables.

Which is better for Freedom From Ozone & Air Chemistry, the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) or the Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty?+

The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) scores higher on Freedom From Ozone & Air Chemistry (7.5/10 vs 5.0/10) — whether the unit adds an ioniser, plasma, UV or photocatalytic stage to the airstream, whether that stage can be switched off, and how CARB classifies the device — 'Mechanical' means filtration only, 'Electronic' means capable of generating ozone and certified only as being at or below 0.050 ppm.

Is the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) worth the price difference over the Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty?+

The Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty is the cheaper option at $239.99 versus $799. Whether the pricier model is "worth it" depends on how much you value its lead in Coverage-Claim Honesty.

Which is better suited to my use case?+

The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) is the better fit if you mainly care about bedroom-quiet. The Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty is the better fit for large-room or wildfire-smoke.

What's the warranty on the Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) vs the Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty?+

The Alen BreatheSmart 75i (V2) ships with a 0-month warranty; the Coway Airmega AP-1512HH Mighty ships with a 36-month warranty. Always confirm current terms on the manufacturer's site before buying.

Should I wait for the next model instead of buying either of these?+

If either model is more than two years old, a successor may be close — check the "Latest Model" link on each product page. Otherwise, both are current, well-supported options and there's no strong reason to wait.

Cheaper Option

Levoit Core 300S-P Smart Air Purifier — $149.99

Premium Option

Molekule Air Pro with PECO-HEPA Tri-Power filter (SQ2PH-US) — $1014.99

Specifications and prices for both products last verified . Scores are calculated from published specifications — see how we compare products.

You May Also Like